Suggestion: How to fix flame walls of death

Skotlex

After hundreds of dailies with random people, it's clear that the fire-wall boss mechanics can catch many players by surprise, the amount of times people accidentally roast up the rest of the party is too high and we can't expect everybody to know/memorize the wall spawn locations beforehand to avoid this tragedy.

I'd suggest a simple fix: instead of having the flames go up/down whenever a boss is engaged/disengaged, have them be triggered by a player being defeated/downed.

Before:

- Boss fight starts: flames walls go up.

- Boss fight ends (dead or party wipe): flame walls vanish.

Suggestion:

- Boss fight starts: set a party variable "boss_fight on"

- Player is defeated/downed: if boss_fight is on, activate flame walls.

- Boss fight ends: if boss_fight is on, deactivate flame walls and unset boss_fight.

As a programmer, I know this alternative is very easy to implement (the difficulty lies in selecting which flame walls should go up regardless: those meant to avoid players skipping the fight), so it really boils down to whether this change to the mechanics would have any negative consequences: can people exploit it somehow (I doubt it because nobody can get out of the fight state while at least one member is fighting the boss)? Or was the original mechanic intended to punish players for not sticking to the party?

This change would benefit rushers who don't want to wait, as well as people who are left behind, because now there's a chance to catch up without being locked outside of the fights.

The walls of fire really have no point except to allow some players to torment others.