Lack of AFK timers is perplexing

Arcayne

I've been playing MMO's for roughly 13 years now. I've been apart of just about every major NA MMO release day since then. Blade and Souls has been amongst the smoother I've seen in quite a while. Primarily lag free, no major game breaking bugs, its been alright. Now, as far as Que's are concerned, well, it was to be expected. Anyone whom played Aion from launch remembers how bad Que's can be. This is relatively close to that. But what can you do? Its a highly anticipated F2P game, of course there would be Que's. Any reasonable person would've expected this to happen.

I don't have any issue with how NCsoft is handling the congestion situation for the most part. Adding servers would be a quick fix, but potentially hazardous to the games population health as the initial rush dies down, and the pop stabilizes. Thinned out/spread populations due to underpopulated servers is not optimal. What I do, however, have an issue with is the lack of any sort of AFK timer. Knowing full well that there would be an incoming rush of players, and not establishing some form of method to combat inactive players from clogging up server que's is rather unacceptable. It may not be a complete fix to the que situation, but it certaintly would help alleviate the problem.

Please look into adding an afk timer asap NCsoft. Without one I'm afraid, this will only get worse.

Just my 2 cents.

Hey there,

Thanks for the praise! This has been a relatively smooth launch... but it's definitely still been a launch... so we're working hard to get where we need to be. 

Just to clarify, adding servers is not a quick fix (unless you already had a bunch of servers ready to go... in which case, the question might be "why didn't you just deploy them?"). It also requires downtime... which we always try to avoid. 

We're working on an AFK timer - and should have more info on that soon!

3 hours ago, Arcayne said: