FM DPS and survability ?

Magicwillow

Hello everyone im new to the game and currently leveling a FM and a BM both are 38.

My FM is Fire and i have more difficulty to kill monsters than with my BM. I have a lower dps and burst than with him. Also i feel i have less HP drain from my damage and i often have to eat to restaure my hp.
And i have tryed arena 1v1 its horrible i getting full cc'ed all the time when with my BM i can parry / block lot of shit.

Is it getting better for the DPS and survability later in level ? 

Well you are only lvl 38, you don't even have all the skills ;) altough i cannot check right now wich ones are missing...

As for the story, i found ranged easier to play... but if you got the feeling you are really missing aoe, you can consider to reskill 2 to the aoe option (although it is not done so much or at all later, it might be better for you personally for level stuff. The story is a big tutorial, just play around a bit ;)).. then you got an aoe knochdown on fire z, aoe on ice z, aoe pull on 4 and aoe on v, so you can lock them down and aoe them without 2 on aoe option ;)

But I also found it complicated at first with the changing stances. It took me a while to get used to. Also while you get some burst later on, I think ice is better for burst (at least if i remember correctly?) and fire does more consistant damage. Either way fm is rather high up in the damage ranking, so it probably outdpses a bm (general speaking, with gear and stuff. 

For a fm you have to watch wich buffs are running and keep them running, which might get annoying with trash mobs you encounter in the story. But note that fighting small mobs in the story is way shorter than bosses in dungeons.