BM DPS ?

Magicwillow

Hello everyone, im new to the game and currently leveling a BM and a FM both are lvl 38.

With my FM i have to be carefull and my dps / burst are not really good. While with my BM i can rush in the middle of tons of mob and just tab + spamm rightclick dragon fire tongue something like that its magic !
I have way more survability and damage / burst with my BM than with the FM is it normal ? 

Can you play BM in dungean and raid later has a DPS or do you have to be Tank ? And if yes witch spec to use ? lightning or fire?

Yes, you can play as dps but is a little bit harder. All the people spec that you tank the dungeon and in the most of the case you will tank. Fortunately, this game is design to not have a tank spec like other MMO'S out there, forcing the tanks to do dps for hold the aggro of the party instead of have a "taunt" skill for do this job and the BM can use his tanking skill for doing dps to compensete the tank part so i personally recomend that you learn how to tank, that will make your life more simply than doing dps with them in the most situations. For the BM the best build for now is Fire, is much more easy to play than lightning, more ms friendly and do more dps with low gear (and even with more) and is so much easy to tank with fire. Make sure that you learn how to uso your F block in draw stance, Q, E and SS on your favor and you will be fine tanking dungeons.

• 3 weeks later...

Is this really the case that you are expected to tank no matter what? 

When I was picking a class, I looked at guides that told me BM is DPS OR Tank. I've tanked in other games but I really don't want to try it yet, being so new and not knowing any of the bosses. I don't love it to be frank and only do it if my group needs it but if it's going to every dungeon, I'll have to re-roll which is a pain-in-the-arse to put it lightly.

I'm only 45 so far so I guess the time to do it is now before I invest any serious gold/mats into him...