New to the game! & Verifying files every time

dumblid

Hello! Im new to the game I dont understand much so I have to request to make.

1. Every time I launch the game it takes like 2-3 minutes to verify the files, is that normal? or is there something I could do so it doesnt have to verify every time?
2. I come from AION so I dont understand much about this game, theres a short summary you guys could make me to guide me a little bit? Im a summoner (I couldnt choose between summoner and warlock but I went with summoner at the end lol). I read a couple guides but they're kinda all over the place. What should be my main focus while leveling?

Well, thanks in advance you guys!

1) Yes that's normal. Nope there's no way for you to disable it so it doesn't do that each time, unfortunately. 

2) I don't play as a Summoner but you don't really need to focus on much if you're still leveling. The real grind begins when you hit 55 and end the main story. There are side stories, one where you need to go to Khanda Vihar and one where you go to Temple of Eluvium. You won't be able to do VT (term for Temple of Eluvium) for a while, it's one of the harder endgame dungeons. So focus on getting into BT (Skybreak Spire) raids and getting elemental accessories and such. 

By the end of the story you'll be around HM 6-8, you can press P and put Hongmoon points into your AP or HP. The amount of points varies with your HM level. These can be changed at any time. 

Blue quests aren't really important, the Old Man Cho one is however. It's a purple quest and it'll allow you to run up walls and such, which is basically a requirement at some parts in the story and in dungeons/raids. 

Youll get a pet/pet aura from the story, which can be upgraded with pet pods. These give you more HP. 

So just focus on the main quest for now, leveling is easy but it slows down once you finish the story and have to grind for gear in dungeons.