Advice?

Utage

Hey guys, so after practicing drawing for roughly a week on and off, I've gone from stick figures to things that look remotely human, hooray! Problem is, I'm not really sure what I should be working on or if there's anything in particular I'm doing wrong. Any tips on what I should improve on would be super appreciated.

8REfBAk.png

Also I should mention that I'm having a really hard time with hair. For the most part, I've just been looking at other artists' stuff and incorporating that into the body and face. But for some reason I can't do the same with hair. If anyone has any advice on that or good tutorials as far as hair goes, that'd be great!

Hi there! For a week that is honestly amazing progress.  Always use references when starting out, to be honest references are amazing to use no matter how talented someone is. I am by no means a professional artist, but I'd recommend doing life studies of humans/animals/whatever you would like to draw.  A good picture is judged by the correct anatomy, color, and lighting imo. 

I'll link you to some artists who are very helpful when it comes to people asking for advice.

alicexz.tumblr.com

theboyofcheese.tumblr.com those two people alone have very helpful advice throughout their blogs.

What I did in the start was I would take a screen cap of something that interests me (ie dean from supernatural) and I would try to replicate that. Persistence is the key to improving, and for me I knuckled down in April 2015 and really began to take art seriously. 

Don't be afraid to trace at the beginning - but don't end up using it as a crutch, it helped me a whole lot because I learn by doing that. If I have to copy everything once over before I do something to learn then I will do that.

I'll show you two years difference of my work on the second one I studied my reference photo religiously. I tried to replicate every bit of detail to make it look real. 

rs7D8LO.png