In-Game Chat

MichelleZhivago

Hello,

No idea if this has been addressed already, I am new in game and in forums, so my apologies if this has Topics about it here or elsewhere.  It is just that the In-Game Chat is VERY confusing. I joined because of friends' recommendations and I can not talk to them, apparently? 

As a new, low-level player, I can NOT chat in game? Really?!? Not until Level 11? That would have been nice to know.  It would seem that the very players that NEED to chat in game are NEW players. Do you realize how FRUSTRATING it is to NOT know how to do something in game and to KNOW that some player right next to me could answer that question, if, I could CHAT IN GAME!

How nice that there are so many chat options that I am not allowed to use! I notice that the Spammers and Gold-Sellers are not being restricted in this way. If I end every message with a phony website, promising cheats, hacks and "free" gold,  could I chat then?

Sorry. Just soooo annoying. "ALL" Chat is so awash with spam that when a friend tried to whisper to me that I needed to be Level 11 to use Chat because of a new patch, I barely saw it in the Chat Window before it was flushed out by the incessant messages about Gold Selling, etc. I only saw it at all because his comment was pink. 

If there is a way to communicate in-game, I would appreciate it if someone could explain it in easy steps, please. Then, perhaps I could fix my chat, menus, interface, settings, etc., with the help of other, more experienced players, thank you.