Lv 55 and still pretty clueless - Please help

Yugen29

Hello.

So i managed to grind to all the Main quests and finally reached lvl 55 HM 8.

Problem: I spend so much time in the quest grinding that I didn't really understand how the game or my class basically works. I feel like rushed through the content untill the endgame.

I'm a casual player so I'm not in any clan. Also I don't see many SF around in the game. So I need a place to ask some questions.

PvE

I started playing an earth build since the beginning. Only because at the beginning I felt that I don't have much CD on Earth build with my RMB + F combo than I had with a frost build. Now I realised that most SF play an Ice build. But I dont know what even the difference between earth build and ice build is tbh. Yeah I know it sound pretty stupid that I'm on lv 55 still asking this question. But I played Earth since the beginning.

So: What is the difference between Earth and Ice build? When to prefer which build? And how do I have to play them?

With my earth build I start combining RMB + F and some Side stepping until my Chi is full and then start punching with Kingfist or activate my Chi with Z and just hit the RMB strikes. That's how I do mostly. I try to not be out of Fokus. But it can happen sometimes because I have no badges atm and then I'm like a sitting duck and have to switch to ranged stance.

With frost build I have no idea which buttons to combo to hold my fokus and chi. Most guides I've seen are not really up to date.

Is there a preferable PvE Build (optional with a guide) for Ice/Earth?

My gear is pretty basic. I try to upgrade my weapon with the dungeon atm but I don't know which armor I should focus on.

PvP

There is not much I can say except that I get pretty fked up in PvP matches.

Can you prefer a PvP build (optional with a guide)?

Is the Moonwater PvP bagua worth it? I'm playing with the normal Quest legendary bagua set.