Framerate issues

Setzaroth

Is anyone else having problems with FR drops? My video card is WAY stronger than the recomended reqs for this game and has no problem running recent games. This game shouldn't even phase it, yet when I do anything combat related, I drop to single digit frames. 

What's going on? After 4+ years is this game seriously not optimized yet?

Also, a side question that doesn't really warrant it's own thread, how do you change your avatar on here? 

When I first logged in it was perfectly fine, but I accidently quit and tried getting back in only to get about 1-5fps just for character creation. I'm not a tech expert but I would say it's just because so many people are on it at once and it becomes overloaded. Could be something else entirely though.

43 minutes ago, BadgerB said:

When I first logged in it was perfectly fine, but I accidently quit and tried getting back in only to get about 1-5fps just for character creation. I'm not a tech expert but I would say it's just because so many people are on it at once and it becomes overloaded. Could be something else entirely though.

I know it's not my machine. At first I thought it might be my connection, but FPS doesn't have anything to do with connection usually.

I wouldn't have brought it up because as you said, there are a lot of people on at once, but I found a thread here dating back to Oct having a similar problem, which bothered me a little, and leads me to believe it's taking the devs an absurd amount of time to fix it. (if they are even working on this specific issue)

6 minutes ago, Setzaroth said:

I know it's not my machine. At first I thought it might be my connection, but FPS doesn't have anything to do with connection usually.

Some games the ping actually does affect the FPS (this is present in Starcraft 2 and Heroes of the Storm, however thats related to the engine). What kind of specs do you have for your computer? Have you tried adjusting the settings at all?