GameGuard - Official response?

Tempestive

Greetings, all.

I haven't posted anything on this forum before, but I felt this matter needed an updated discussion.

I started playing BnS just the week before the Raven Wings patch, and I was negatively surprised to see GameGuard as an anti-cheat software being used then.

Ever since the update, and the corresponding GG patch, I felt performance issues (granted, I'm running BnS on an old rig) that I hadn't felt the short time I played before, up to the point where the game became unplayable for minutes at a time, along with inability to manually terminate the game client after the increasingly frequent CTD's.

Since then, I've been googling and reading up on GG on these very forums, but I did play Aion, and I do remember the mess it was. Some other games I played used GG as well, and those were often the games I ended up uninstalling shortly after installation.

From what I gather, there has been - and not surprisingly - a lot of discussion on this since 2015.

I guess what I'm trying to get across is the following:

- There is a large amount (?) of players who are not satisfied with the use of GG;
- There is a large amount (?) of players who defend the use of GG, often stating those who don't are hackers;
- GG, afaik, is not the most effective or safe solution, although I can't point one out that is;
- After being generally accepted as controversial issue, which is causing more harm than good to NCSoft: if not for the quality - or lack thereof - of the software being used, for the singular motive of costumer satisfaction, there should at the very least be an official address with measure to take - or not - regarding this.

AFAIK, GG is not very effective at doing it's job. Granted, it might be better than nothing and you can't please everyone, but I believe it's been repeatedly and continuously shown in many cases it is NOT the way to go to prevent cheating effectively and noninvasively.