Tanking: How Does It Work?

Lifesong

Hello, I am a noob looking for tips. I've been playing my KFM and I feel like I am getting a feel for DPS in PVE content. In PVP I pretty much hope to die quickly so that I can respawn and get back to questing... KFM is my secondary focus so I'm not too concerned about PVP right now. I'm going to work on clearing Mushin's Tower before I even think about PVP.

Searing Palm rotations are both fun and challenging. I am enjoying the class, but I can clearly see that I need to do some research to get the most out of it. I am not looking for a full skill build, but I've found myself confused about how threat mechanics work. It seems my primary method of generating threat is a combination of doing damage and using counter. I am wondering if tanking with a KFM is really as... How to put it... Is KFM tanking really as intense as I've been making it?

What should I be doing to keep an enemy focused on me when I want it? What can I do to avoid threat when I don't want it? How much threat does using counter give me when I have bonus threat specced? Should I be using the skill that gives me 150% bonus threat for 15 seconds for tanking? If so how does that mechanic actually work? Is it similar to a SMN's kitty taunt? Is there anything else I should be doing when I want to hold agro?

Help with any of the above questions is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

im not a pro in doing KFM tanking but what i can say to you, is that he is versatile as *cricket*, he can be whatever u want.Tank/dps, hydrid.

Threats are always good to have , because that will make the boss, or mobs focus you, so you Group team can damage them without taking damage.

I would`nt recommend it in mushin tower, because they will already focus you..(you are the only one there).just keep using skills that increase threat and doing damage, u will do good.