Spammers/ server check.

TeckDaCosta

I think NC should do something about the spammers. Every day I block like 100 but nowadays they even spamming the party finders also so it's a bit difficult to find a party like this.

Also NC should create a site where we can check the servers if they are up or down. I like the game but they don't look after properly... If it will goes like this we will stop playing.

I worked on e-mail servers for years, so I have some professional experience here. (that will go totally unheard but w/e)

Here are some common methods to stop spam.

• Regex / Bayesian Filter: Most MMO's implement a regular expression filter into their chat system. It looks for various pastern in the text of the message. - Spammer solution it to change the message to avoid the Regex. (This in my opinion should be the last line of defense, not the first.)
  • Time Gate: BnS appears to be implementing a time gate where they have to level to a certain level to send messages. - Spammer solution is to level accounts in bulk to the appropriate level.
  • Rate Limit: Messages are blocked by the frequency that they are sent. This would be in my opinion the BEST method to prevent spam in a MMO.
  • Greylist: I have not seen a MMO use a greylist. Meaning the senders messages get blocked based upon the activities and behavior of the sender.

Spam is difficult to stop entirely because its profit to expense margin is large, basically it works because you guys actually buy gold from the spammers. (or enough of you buy to keep them in business) STOP DOING THAT. It's cheating and it ***** the game economy up.

• Rate Limit: Messages are blocked by the frequency that they are sent. This would be in my opinion the BEST method to prevent spam in a MMO.

^ this.... + active GM that bans the rest ( which can be player paid with NCoins you can make like 50 per server  - there is no cost for you NCoins doesnt cost you anything...