Questions about staple skills and their use

Demise

First, horray we have class specific forums now!

Second, I just hit 45 and I'm looking to improve my build for soloing and having the most survivability/utility in dungeons etc. I've got my favorite skills that I've used while leveling, but I keep switching it up to see if I'm missing something or could improve my play in some way. (A lot of guides are for other translations of the game and are generally not very helpful yet. Not to mention the god awful skill translations and tooltips in game.) So now I'd like to ask some other summoners about some skills and see how you guys have been using them in game!

Sunflower is probably one of my favorite skills. However I'm not very good at chaining up to the big sunflower burst yet. What chain/combo of skills do you guys use to get your stacks up to 5 without the buff falling off or running out of chi? Right now I only seem to make it to the 5th stack if I get lucky with hongmoon weapon procs while I've got doom n gloom up. Sunflower only gives me stacks every second hit, which makes the 3 chi cost rather exhausting. Does specing doom n bloom to go down the focus regen side instead of the hp regen side of the skill tree help with that?

I find that the House Cat tree makes my cat way more tanky, plus combined with the Tiger Crouch means that I can solo large clusters of mobs all at once which make clearing dungeons easier. Does Beckon have a lot of use in pve besides a disengage? How do you guys utilize your cat in pve while you're doing dungeons? How do you keep the furry little *cricket* from getting his teeth kicked in? I'm using True Friend quite often to keep my own hp and focus topped up, should I be using it less aggressively to keep my little minion from dieing?

What do you guys find the most effective way to self heal and keep your hp topped up during boss fights? Do you spec for the hp regen on petals storm as well as doom n bloom?