Stressful community

SchwaAkari

I will preface this post by saying I'm not calling anyone or any group out for anything, nor is this meant as an angry rant or whine or whatever. Actually I'm just curious about other people's opinions on it (seeing if I'm alone or not) and am interested maybe in a personal solution for myself (other than "ignore it").

So! I'm brand new to this genre of gaming (calling it the "hypercompetitive multiplayer" sub-genre, same vein as League or Starcraft where leaderboards and rankings and moving up are the actual objects of the game, etc), I got into Blade&Soul because I'm a junkie for Dark Souls PvP but also wanted to try something I've never tried before, the feeling of being a complete beginner again in something sounded fun. The only other MMO I've ever played was Mabinogi (made by Nexon, the creators of MapleStory) which was strictly NOT competitive, it was a very old and tired MMO but filled with a small community of really nice and extremely social people, to the point that many active players recognized each other's usernames just seeing them out and about over time. I humorously make the analogy that moving from Mabi to B&S is a lot like moving from the country out into a sprawling downtown metropolis, having never even been in one before.

*takes a sip of coffee*